want to learn game development and design

i AM A newbie here…want to learn game develoment …can anybody tell me how should i start learning game design and develoment…I am from computer science background…Want to start as soon as possible…also tell me what should be me starting point…

Thank you

good morning frends…have a great monday…i have started to gather resources…while your suggestions still needed…
thank you

I would suggest that you might wish to start by fooling-around with BGE. Seriously. The first thing that you need to grok is “how games basically work.” Within the Blender environment, and without leaving that environment, you can produce assets and turn them into a serviceable game.

Also, spend a lot of time in the “Games” related forum-sections here … when someone posts a game, grab it, and reverse-engineer it. (In other words, “figure out how the damn thing works!” :yes: ). It is always easier to study something that exists, and that is working. Why not now rip the guts out of the thing and, say, replace all the images?

When you move on to “real games,” there are many technologies and frameworks that you might use. Apple is doing many interesting things with its new Swift language, and I have spent a lot of time with the cross-platform OpenFL and Haxe languages.

But, once again, there is this cardinal rule:

Actum Ne Agas:

Do Not Do A Thing Already Done.

You (almost) always build your “new” game using some kind of framework that, though it does not do all of the work for you, does do everything possible that is “common to ‘a game.’” Every “thing already done” is done by the framework, and, in the open-source tradition, if you extend the framework in a new and useful way in the process of developing your game, you are obliged to “give back” to the framework.