Rendering a proper depth pass from your scene?

Hey there! :slight_smile:

I am still relatively new to blender and I am having a lot of issues with getting proper passes from my image.

Here is my current issue.
I have a scene, from which I want to export a depth pass (I need a seprate pass, I am not looking to use the composite node to create post DoF).

Anyways…here is what my scene looks like from a top view :
The orange circle is my camera, and the orange ellipse is the distance form my cam to my focus point.

The red part
is the ONLY part of my scene that I want to have in focus.

The problem is that my depth pass comes out like this :

Basically its almost like a linear ramp. Darkest at the closest point to the camera, and whitest at the furthest point from the camera.

And I want it to only be dark (in-focus) on the center part (the red area in the top view picture), and all other areas of the image to be white.

Basically I need a way to determine the limits of my depth map somehow. (In Cinema4D you can use a start and end point for your camera’s front and rear blur, but I cannot find anything similliar in blender)

**This is the node setup that I use:

Thank you for any responses in advance. I am hoping I am clear for what I am looking to achieve… if not message me and I’ll try to explain it better.

Once again thank you for your time and help in advance :slight_smile:

Depth map is exactly what it is, a depth map. Pixel values are distance from camera in blender units. What you describe is some kind of focus map. You can achieve it with math nodes or the map value node as you did. There is no real point in giving this to user as a render pass because you can always generate the focus map from depth, but not vice versa. So baking focus area info would lose the ability to focus on another distance or change dof. All zdefocus filters generate focus map from depth pass using focus distance and other parameters that user sets.