Just another nature scene

Hi

I have been using blender for about 10 months now and based on the linked tutorial below I have made this image in Blender and post processed it in GIMP. The goal has been to simply make a pleasing image to look at and learn as much as I can. I feel that it got some flaws and I got some plans to fix it but I would very much like to hear some feedback before I share my own thoughts.

Any comment or insight is welcome and dont be afraid to hurt my feelings. :slight_smile:

Link to tutorial

Attachments

Just a 2 thoughts

1. It’s too red
  2. Shadows don’t match with a sun position - I guess it is a sun we see over the hill. There is another strong light source somewhere behind the camera on right. Of course, there could be some artificial light source but it looks a bit weird.

Hi

Thanks a lot for your feedback! I agree with both of your points and especially the second one, I didnt really think about the direction of the light when I set it up so thanks a lot for pointing it out!

I have not had time to work more on this and I might be better of to just continue on with a new project and take what I learned from this one into the next.

What I think it is lacking is a clear focal element. I guess the pile of rocks in the foreground is the focal element but its not much to look at. I had a thought about making a path and put a figure on the horizon or something. But that will be something for the next project, and also more awareness when it comes to lighting. =)

Thanks again!