How to morph a pair of teeth?

Hi all I’m rather new to blender, so please bare with me on this. :stuck_out_tongue:

I have a pair of teeth combined into one single mesh. I’m trying to morph the lower jaw, I’ve added 2 bones to the front of the teeth, but after parenting to the armature it instead moves the entire object instead of just the lower jaw. I’ve probably done something weird, so any tips, or if anyone wants to take a look at the file, would be appreciated!

Edit: I found the issue. The weights weren’t set right. I attached the file as I’m curious as in how you can move both bones at the same time.

http://www.pasteall.org/blend/39312

Attachments

teethmerged.blend (536 KB)

No blend file supplied with your post so we have insufficient data to piece together your entire blend file (we cannot carry out miracles !!)

Check the weight painting is correct for ALL of your bones. You’ll have to do this yourself since you’re the only one who can see this

Whoops, I thought I posted that link. Here it is. As I was mentioning earlier, it’s probably something painfully obvious on my part. Still trying to wrap my head around bones. To my understanding, I need two both on the upper and lower jaw to pose when morphing?

http://www.pasteall.org/blend/39312

Hello and welcome to BA.org

If your teeth are just 1 mesh object, are they complete teeth? What I mean is, if in edit mode, can you select one vertex from the top teeth and do a ctrl-L -> linked, blender should select all the verts the make up to top teeth.

If when in edit mode the top teeth and bottom teeth are 2 separate complete meshes, then select all the verts for each set and manually assign weight.

Easy to do, but please post the file…

Randy

Hi Randy,

I posted the link above. I never knew about that control L option! Wish I was aware of that before. =)

From the weights how would I manually set that? What I mean is, what value would I apply to them?