Objects Creation

Hi, i’m a student and i have to use blender/python for an academic project.
I need create 200k cells (i already have xyz for all of them).
cicle:
name=‘number’+str(id_cell)
mesh=bpy.data.meshes.new(name)
verts = [(0,0,0),(0,5,0),(5,5,0),(5,0,0)]
faces = [(0,1,2,3)]
mesh.from_pydata(verts,[],faces)
obj=bpy.data.objects.new(name,mesh)
items.append(obj)
//other
for item in items:
bpy.context.scene.objects.link(item)
I take about 12 hours to create them and I think it’s too much. After, I add keyframes to the materials (diffuse_color) for the animation. Can you give me some tips? I’m sure I can speed up objects creation but i don’t know how.
(Bad english, sorry)

Nobody can help me?

are these cells simple planes with one color + a keyframe

in any case 200K is a huge amount and could take a very long time

can you show pic of what you mean might help to help!

creation of anything higher then a few 1000 will make bl sluggish in any case!

again here do you re use color or have 200 K colors ?

happy bl

This is just a piece of all. For the animation I need 200k different materials, cause any plane must be indipendent. But if you say that even 1k is huge, I should resize this model

on time I did add like 20 K plane with 20 K text name
and it took a few seconds to do

I really don’t know if it is possible to go to 200 K objects and materials with colors
you have to experiment and see if it can works and not overflow memory and create errors!

what are each object and verts counts ?
is it a circle or a plane
first post show only 4 points ?

don’t think blender can really go over a few millions verts
mind you if you use instancing it could go higher!

only testing will determine if it is possible I guess

do you have copy of script to test it ?

do you read a data file for verts or locations ?

what is the var number and id-cell?
in name=‘number’+str(id_cell)

don’t see a for loop for that ?

for intro see this thread