aircraft modeling

http://www.blenderguru.com/tutorials/how-to-make-an-airplane-part-12/

time stamp 15:15

Hey folks I am trying to use blender for plane modeling. Using Guru’s tut, listed above with a time stamp, how do I make the expandable grab box that is being used to define the wing root with loop cuts?

I’m a total novice so terms are not known to me so be kind. Only interest is modeling WW2 planes for gaming. Attach is 1st try.

I am struggling with terms and shortcuts. No CG background at all so I kind of need it dumbed down.

ty

Attachments

B-key to box select.
C-key to circle select. Scroll wheel to increase/decrease brush size of circle select.

Maybe you will find this this guide more useful than this BG tutorial? It describes how to build a WWII fighter in Blender, for detailed visualizations. For gaming/simulators you would have to simplify some of the described methods…

ty

next, I seem to be popping the wrong key and changing tools and such inadvertently. Is there a default return for tools and such?

How much ram does my pc need at this level of modeling, single aircraft object, I have been toying with different techniques as I gain knowledge. I did a total extrusion fuselage, I tried a fuselodge using sections provided with ref drw. My pc seems to operate differently as I try these things, why do things keep altering? prolly me but I’m jumping in head 1st so…post pics later for guidance purposes.

please note attach.

Why does the knife tool not connect the points with the red lines?

Not understanding the knife rules I guess, I am progressing mistake by error, he he.

Discovered my issue with earlier post. You must maintain center and work from center or else. Since I was using small extensions and working out, I blew the keeping center requirement. Better to establish the basic outside dimensions around center, and then edit.

Attachments

knife cuts edges !

happy bl

my 1st 3D model EVER!