Instant field aligned meshes

Please blender add this tool
https://www.inf.ethz.ch/personal/dpanozzo/videos/instant-field-aligned-meshes.mp4

https://github.com/wjakob/instant-meshes

Wow! And the code seems (I’m no expert) but it seems to be GPL complient? And WOW!

Add this asap if it’s viable.

EDIT: Possibly easier or better would be a set of automatic import/export scripts.

Hmm… I´m currently trying it with several meshes but all my results are garbled nonsense. It works fine if I use the examples that come with Instant Meshes but as soon as I import my own meshes it fails.

If you want to try it note that the import process is a bit strange. At least for me.

-Besides the binary file from the github link raziel_henzo posted you also have to download a file called “datasets” and place it in the same folder as the binary.

• This folder contains examples consisting of a ply file and a png file with the same name.

• The programm offers obj import but that doesn´t work.

• You have to triangulate the mesh in Blender before exporting

• You have to export as ply which Blender thankfully supports.

• The programm offerst to browse to a directory on your harddisk and import a file but that doesn´t work.

• Instead you have to place your ply file into the datasets folder and rename one of the png files to the same name as the ply file. For example if your ply file is called example.ply simply take the bunny.png and rename it to example.ply

• Import your file by clicking onto the bunny icon under the “Open mesh” option in Instant Meshes.

Now, what i´ve noticed:

• If I export a ply file from Blender and reimport it to Blender non of the Vertices are welded.
  • If I import onte of the example ply files provided with Instant Meshes all Vertices are welded.
  • In conclusion this probably is the problem and we need some way to export ply files with welded vertices.

Does anybody know how to do that?