Fluid around a cell. Is it possible?

Hi guys,
I am quite new to this amazing field, so apologize in advance if my questions might appear stupid.
I am interested in biological stuffs and trying to reproduce the attached cell. In particular, I am striving to figure out how to make the irregular fluid (water? A sort of jelly) attached outside the membrane of the cells.

Could you drive me through this and help replicate these pictures?

Thank you very much to everybody.

Attachments

You mean the clear membrane on the outside? Should just be a simple glass shader, probably with a procedural bump map so you don’t need to model in all the little distortions in the surface.

. . . and there could be even more (compositing) magic involved. For example, you might render the two cells “sharply,” apply a blur node to them, and then combine them with a sharp render of the fluid, which itself might contain several parts, e.g. if the substance is responsible for the dark spots, which occlude the light from the cells and provide darkness, as well as the specularity, which occlude the light from the cells and provide brightness.

I suggest that, instead of going right out and trying to duplicate this image exactly, you should use it for inspiration for what might be an appropriate (but perhaps simpler) render that is suitable for your purposes and project . . .