Good idea to combine gamer PC and "blender farm"?

Hi everyone.

I’m brand new to blender, and at the moment I’m rendering on my Laptop. You can imagine it’s slow. I want to buy a desktop computer specifically for rendering. I haven’t even started sorting out all the different hardware parts I need to pay attention to, but first thing’s first:
Am I right in assuming that a computer who’s optimized for fast rendering will also make a good gamer computer? Are the two completely synonymous, so if I search for a good gamer pc I’ve automatically got a good render farm? Or are there some aspects where these two goals work against each other?

Thanks.

P.S. An extra goodie would be if it’s as small as possible, so that I can fit it into a suitcase to take to LAN-parties. So I guess that makes it 3 goals. Yeah I know, this one definitely works against the optimization of the other two.

Here’s an example PC cart I put together (Note prices in AUD, so probably take about 35-40% off to get USD)

Has a high end i7, a GTX 980Ti, so it will be great for GPU rendering as well as gaming. The build is fairly small and the case fairly easy to move.

A few changes you can make:

• Swap the second SSD for a HDD, will save decent $$.
  • Drop the CPU to an i5 if you want more GPU rendering.
  • Upgrade to 32GB ram

~

Attachments

Thanks for the reply. So do you have a pc like that, or is that just an example? (Cause if you have it: how long does it take to render stuff?)
What online shop did you use there?

So I take it the answer is yes, a pc can easily be a gamer pc and a render farm. (By the way, is “render farm” even the appropriate word for a private PC at home? Or are render farms only what you call the professional stuff that companies use?)

Looks like this thread is gonna turn into a “rate my pc setup”. Mods, let me know if something like that belongs into a different thread or whatever.