Motion Retouching by Tracking Image Layers?

Hi all,

I have been working with Blender for many years, yet for some reason I have never really been interested in the tracking features. Only recently it occurred to me that this could actually be pretty useful for me. So, I’d like to ask the opinion of artists who have some experience in using the tracking features…

This may (or may not) seem like an obvious thing to many of you. Personally, I have always thought of motion tracking as being a technique that allows me to insert or replace objects into a movie scene, so I really don’t know if what I’m thinking of is possible at all.

To make a long story short: Do you think it would be possible to use Blender’s tracking features for motion retouching? That includes, e.g., dodging and burning as well as cloning and healing (as known from Photoshop) in moving images. My first thought would be to perform the retouching process on a still image as usual (in Photoshop), then export the final edit as layered image. In Blender I would then like to use the tracking process to map the retouched layer to the original scene, so that all corrections are applied to the whole clip.

Is this possible at all? If so, can anyone direct me to good resources that would help me get started?

Thanks in advance.
Marc

That sounds possible, but it would probably take a fair bit of research and development.

If you built a 3d model and matched it to the video clip, then you could paint a mask onto that model. using the rendered animation of the painted mask, you now have a moving mask that matches the video movement.

I’d be interested to see how a healing pass would work over an animated sequence, I feel like there would be too much temporal noise in the dynamic patching, but I bet it would be a cool effect!