Any advice on exporting models to Unity 5.x ?

I am sure there gotta be a trick about bringing models from Blender to Unity 5, lightmapping-ready.

Could you please point me to a tutorial or explain what needs to be done prior to exporting to FBX in order to get lightmaps baked properly in Unity ? (or bake non-directional lightmaps in Blender and bring them / set them up in Unity)

Thanks.

For most purposes, it’s best to let Unity auto-generate Lightmap UVs rather than mess with creating them externally. To do this, simply tick “Generate Lightmap UVs” (refer to http://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/FBXImporter-Model.html).

I have no experience baking lightmaps in Blender and then bringing them into Unity. I don’t believe Unity really “supports” this. You can use an externally-created image as a lightmap, but you’ll probably have to modify a shader to use one UV set for the textures and another for the lightmaps.

I tried that, but when I bake lightmaps, making process just freezes on my PC :confused: I can cancel it of course, but I have not been able to bake lightmaps out of the box.

The progress bar in the bottom right stops altogether? At what point? Baking lightmaps takes a long time–ten minutes for low quality lightmaps on a simple scene on my laptop. Are your computer specs really low? Have you tried baking lightmaps on a very simple scene (one cube and one light) with the quality settings turned all the way down?

Oh wow… That sucks :frowning: My PC is old, but I can bake decent quality lightmaps with bounced lighting in a reasonable amount of time for Quake 3 maps using q3map2 compiler. And that is an ancient tech. I can’t believe Unity is that slow when it comes to baking lightmaps :confused:

I’ll do more tests with simple scenes.