Star Trek ship USS Vincennes WIP

Hello everyone,
I’ve been mucking around with Blender again lately and have reached the limit of my self taught skills so I thought I’d post my WIPs up here so I can get some advice on how to do some of the more technical things on my ship.

The ship is a Merced Class starship, a smaller frigate or light cruiser sized ship. I didn’t like the nacelles that were on the reference I had, so I used the Excelsior class nacelles as a base and made a few changes, chief among them shrinking them down.

Right now, I’m stuck on trying to carve holes in the hull for windows without the smoothing or sub-surf modifier going wonky, and fooling around with lighting in Cycles.

Anyway, here’s the pics. Constructive criticism is always welcome.

Oh, and I’ve been working on it for about 3 weeks.
The background in the renders is a pano rendered from Adriano’s excellent Earth in Cycles setup.

Thanks,
Joe

Attachments

Hi there! I’d say it looks pretty good. The only criticisms I really have of it is that the material isn’t shiny enough and the lighting isn’t harsh enough. Even painted metal has some shine to it, even more so in space where light is very direct.

As for the windows, it really depends on how many poly’s you want to spend on it and what style you want. I generally do this one of two ways: