Luxrender Still life

Just a quick low res render.
I am not sure about the colors the placement of things, or the materials. I tried appending apples i made for the gold bowl but it did not want to launch luxrender, so im still working on that.

I want to put volumetric dust in it for atmosphere, but i think that will increase render time exponentially.

Attachments

So i’ve updated it, i’ve probably made all the beginner mistakes from the pinned thread. Because im not an artist and i dont know about color harmonies, golden ratio and proportions or anything arty like that, im just a rendering fanatic.

So any suggestions welcome and any questions on how i made the stuff is welcome.

Attachments

Just something I notice in the last image is the glass bottle on the left side seems to be floating. Maybe because I can’t see the shadow on the table or the edge of the bowl and the edge of tge bottle are lined up from this angle. Besides that great concept.

Thanks yes you’re correct. Its because the hdr light causes no shadow only ambient occlusion, but i do have a spotlight that casts a shadow, and i can turn it up or down during the render or after, which is why i like Luxrender.

Just wanted to give some more info on the scene. I am still a blender noob, but i did not follow any tutorial for this scene. Everything i made from scratch, except for i took the wall texture, the apple texture and the blanket texture from google images. The wood side is a procedural martial from luxredners database, the grapes is my first attempt at any kind of fruit so im quite pleased with it, and used a glossy translucent material rather than a texture. The liquids are volumetric and took ages to figure out how they work within luxrender.