Being a CG artist with a low budget.

Hello community, I am a fairly new member of the CG world, and today i just wanted to share a few thoughts that have been strucking me lately.

Although I only consider myself a hobbyist for now, I am aiming to go advanced. I passed the college entrance exam last year, and now I am studying Multimedia desiging in college, which is a very new major in our country. Not many people ever heard of it, and the amount of documents available is highly limited, especially 3D.

So lately, i have realized, while the free tutorials and resources found on Youtube are great, but the best stuffs cost a fortune. like i have to pay about 30$ for an HDR, and we don;t have that kind of money here in Vietnam, or at least i don’t. with 30$ that’s enough to feed me for a week! and then we have courses like the Nature and Achitecture Academy from Andrew Price (who is like my idol), but although the prices look very very reasonable, it still reaches over 200$, that’s equal to a very good salary rate that not many average people can have. not to mention all the extra tools i should have to make the great, like a Tablet, 3d scanner, 3d printer and the list goes on. i starting to realize, this industry is a rather expensive one.

So all that i wanted to ask is, am I suitable to be a CG artist in such an economic crisis that i almost always have to endure?

So lately, i have realized, while the free tutorials and resources found on Youtube are great, but the best stuffs cost a fortune.

There are loads of high quality free stuff

example,
Episcura has 4 free very high res HDRIs
the Sibl library is just packed with HDRIs

and you don’t need to buy models or packs.
While the nature academy is cool, the information is out there, you just have to search for it

yes do not worry , without paying a euro/dollar/whatever you can become a great pro cg artist. In the end its personal effort.