SBlueChu - Sketchbook

Hi everyone,

I am a total hobbyist when it comes to modeling / animation. Everything is self-taught when I have time between work.

Any tips would be extremely appreciated!

I’m most influenced by The Legend of Zelda (still trying to figure out how they did the eyes in Twilight Princess and Skyward Sword), Soul Calibur (II and III), Team Fortress 2, Final Fantasy (X-2, I know it’s not the most popular, but I liked the lightness and character designs…), Kingdom Hearts and MMO designs usually from China and Korea.

Since I want to do practical models and animations, I guess I’m trying to find a way to model that is low poly, but I find that difficult. I guess since I think of it like “make the base (body for a character) then layer with additional objects (clothes, accessories, etc.)” I’m trying to get out of that mindset and think more gaming, I suppose.

Just a background so my practice / drafts make sense, I suppose. Funny considering how tempting it is to ramp up the subdivision surface modifier and smooth everything out, lol.

Thanks again!

Pamela - Fanart of the Legend of Zelda, Majora’s Mask
I wanted to draw a grown-up version of Pamela for a long time. She was actually the first thing I tried to model in blender ever, lol.

This was the first thing I ever did:

Just boxy goodness and super basic UV texture trim while everything else was a weird combo of materials and small textures. (Back in 2013, I believe I made this.)

A more recent iteration from early Jan-15 or late Dec-14 is this. This was when I was still hell bent on trying to use separate objects for everything, since it just seemed easier to me, thinking of how possibly it might work for MMOs where characters armor and clothes change constantly. I’m finding that separate objects may not be the case.