Ubuntu & CUDA... Again Blender, seriously?!

Hey guys!

I’m new to Ubuntu, and it took me a long time, quite a few failed attempts (and help from a friend) to get Blender to ‘see’ my CUDA GPU…

But then I opened my preferences today to set up a new starup file, and noticed that ‘GPU Compute’ had disappeared from my ‘Compute Device’ options… :mad:

The thing I don’t get, is that I haven’t even opened Blender since the moment we checked (with my computer wiz friend) that it did actually show when we installed Ubuntu… Haven’t touched a single thing!

The only thing that might be different, is that my computer automatically updated Blender to 2.75a

Now, I’m only a hobbyist, so it’s not like it’s professionally vital that it works… But GPU renders are sooooooo much faster, that I’m here asking you guys for help… :cool:

Any ideas please?..

Thanks!

PS: I’m on Ubuntu 15.04/64bits, my GPU is a GeForce GT 740M…

When said ‘a few failed attempts’ earlier, I was talking about the fact that NVIDIA drivers alone are not enough… It took us some time to figure out that we had to install the CUDA toolkit as well…

Shouldn’t be necessary. Nvidia drivers from repo come with cuda runtime that official Blender can use. Building Blender does require cuda toolkit, as does repository versions of Blender.

Multiple people have reported that cuda is not available until Blender is run as root. That suggests a permission problem in Ubuntu, with nvidia drivers, or both but I don’t know the cause.

@JA12 unfortunately is not possible to compile the CUDA kernel only installing the nvidia driver in Ubuntu:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/blender/+bug/1375333
I remember trying installing some packages that supposed were CUDA runtime, but I could not do it. So the best way is using official Blender that contains the precompiled CUDA Kernel and no need install CUDA toolkit.

@Nunud, install “nvidia-modprobe” package from software manager. Reboot the system.