trouble creating an invisibility cloak effect in cycles

Greetings!

Blender user of nearly a decade here. I’m not pro but I’m not a beginner either. That being said, I seem to be having trouble getting a rather simple masking effect to occur in cycles. I’ve tried virtually every bit of advice I could find through google to no avail.

I have two planes set up that are basically line drawings with alpha channels. One is slightly hovering over the other with an object (extruded plane) sitting between the two. This plane has a shape key which I use to animate it’s movement in relation to the foreground plane w/image sequence and alpha channel (not sure that even matters for the purpose of my question). Anyway, when I was working with this scene in blender render, it was rather easy to get the masking plane to be invisible while still masking the rear plane and nothing else. Now that I am using cycles, the workflow has changed and I cannot get the plane mask to be both invisible and masking the rear plane.

I have a feeling that I should be using render layers but none of the tuts I’ve seen really address my situation nor seem to work as directed.

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated and if need be, I can post a few screenshots.

Yes, please. Screenshots.

The eyeball is a single image png with alpha loaded in through add images as planes. It is animated with keyframes Loc to move left and right. The surrounding but is another plane loaded in with same but a sequence of png with alpha, instead. The highlighted plane is just a plane extruded and animated to match the sequence plane’s eyelid blink.