How to improve your skills as an artist

Hi!

I’m an occasional artist, who currently works in another, completely different field, and even though I already know how to do some stuff in 3d, I’m stuck at the mediocrity zone, and after a long time, I’m restarting my journey into awesomeness (!!!), but I’m getting frustrated again, mainly because I can’t choose my subjects to practice properly, in a way that they can promote an improvement in my skills as a 3d artist, without completely depleting my limited resources (3d skills, willpower, etc), which in time, makes me give up for another few months or years. So, I’m here to ask, how do you guys go about selecting your practice subjects, and what do you guys could recommend me to do, to break this stupid cycle I’m stuck in?

PS. I’m rusty, so I’m taking CG Cookie lessons to refresh, but I know that the skills that I need can’t be downloaded into my brain, they need to be acquired through practice, and I’m still not confident with my syllabus, any help, from anyone taking the same journey would be immensely appreciated, thanks in advance!

Make a model every day. Sun or rain, make a model.
Getting started is the hardest part in the learning process. Try starting a project and sticking to it. You want to have something that at the end you can say “this is what I’ve completed” even if it isn’t that good- it doesn’t matter, because you did something and that’s just fantastic.

Okay, I agree with that, but how am I supposed to model everyday, if I don’t know what to model? How I choose between a music box and a katana? Between a gear and a lamp? I’ve been thinking about keeping a subject journal, to store things I wanted to model and keep the deciding to a minimum when i’m supposed to model… But I don’t know, I wanted to know how do you guys stay productive