Noob to Blender with lots of questions and needing general advice

Hello all,

As the title stated, I am new to Blender and have just started my first project- Designing an abandoned insane asylum. It’s a bit expansive possibly, but I figure if I tackle something intricate, it will give me the best exposure to a wide variety of the tools, tricks, and techniques involved with Blender, and I’ll be working with everything from environments and lighting to object modelling as the set comes together, and so far I would say I’m doing a pretty good job.

At any rate, after going through the forums for a couple of weeks, I have so far been unable to find a good guide as to the whys/whens/hows as far as project structuring is concerned. So, I thought I would basically outline what I’ve been doing, what I hope to do, and hopefully this is of use to other newbies and possible some of the veterans can comment on ways that I should approach the project differently and give me a heads up on some of the problems I will come up against and how to avoid them.

My building has multiple wings and floors, and of course numerous cells, offices, open areas etc. So I started by creating the basic floor plan in GIMP and then pulling it into Blender as a background image and building my walls over the blueprints. However, I immediately noticed problems of scaling- I thought I had set the image up to be at the right resolution, but when I pulled it into Blender, it drew the lines thicker than I had, and no longer matched the orientation of the world grid. So, I scrapped that and have been building it basically free hand, extending cubes and planes into a configuration that roughly corresponded to my drawings. But, then I ran into an issue with a lot of vertices and sides that overlapped just slightly, and so when I would make an adjustment, the walls would act in ways that I didn’t anticipate.