Prehistoric's life recnstructions

Hello everyone, i am fairly new to Blender Artist as well as blender itself, i have only actually going deep into learning blender about 2 months ago after years of messing around with modeling and texturing only, as that was all i needed to do in my game modding days. i have not try out all of the components of blender and i would love to learn more from the experts.

so, being a paleontology fan, my works will mostly be prehistoric animals reconstruction scenes. this is my second scene, the first one was just something ripped off from a youtube tutorial, so nothing to show there, but this i made on my own:

and here is the same thing but with no compositing:

the trees, which was suppose to be red woods tree, i will need to redo, as they look way too ugly. i wonder if there is any better way to make trees than the sapling addon?

the water fall, simulated using smoke simulator, but it is very diluted, i haven’t found the right settings to make it denser. the compositing did helped a bit though.

so that’s my work so far, any critics are much welcomed.

Attachments

so i was playing around with the smoke and i thought low-res smoke looks better than high-res for simulating water, i was also told that the color of the ground is very unrealistic (and it surely was) so i changed it to a blackish color and make the moss greener, also added a separate texture for it. then i cranked up the intensity of the sky to give a more orange reflection on everything, and finally makes everything gloomier and darker as it is suppose to be sunset:

is it looking better?

The waterfall looks sweet. And i like the plants on the foreground. The t-rex needs some love maybe a little more lighting

thanks! ok so scene lighten up a bit, added some details for the cliff and… that’s it, finally will be remaking the trees: