Run blender as root?

I’m a rather noobie to blender, and I just realized that it uses my CPU instead of my GPU. So I went to System in User Prefs to change my render device, but it was like, “nope, no CUDA for you” (There was no option for CUDA) (I have a GTX 750 Ti), so after some research, I found out that running blender as root could solve the problem. I can’t figure out how to run blender as root though. I’m pretty sure I have to go to the terminal and go to my Blender dir, which I did, and I tried “sudo blender,” but it said “sudo: blender: command not found”. I’m pretty new to Linux too, and I’m running Ubuntu 15.04.

Running things as root is a sign that you don’t have something setup correctly. Also running Blender as root can cause all sorts of issues that you don’t want to deal with (like file permission issues). But, if you still want to run as root, just change your command to this:

sudo ./blender

No, you should not run Blender as root. For Ubuntu, Ubuntu family or based on Ubuntu Linux distro like Linux Mint, you must to do this:

• Install the nvidia driver from driver manager.
  • Install the “nvidia-modprobe” package from package manager. Reboot the system (read at the end of this message for 14.04 version)
  • Install Blender from the repositories. This is only for the required dependencies are installed. After installation, you can uninstall Blender.
  • Download Blender from the official site (tar.bz2 file). Unpack tar.bz2 in a folder and execute there the “blender” file. (Official Blender includes precompiled CUDA kernel, you “do not need” to install CUDA Toolkit).
  • Follow these steps to enable CUDA:
    https://www.blender.org/manual/render/cycles/gpu_rendering.html

Configuration

To enable GPU rendering, go into the User Preferences, and under the System tab, select the Compute Device(s) to use. Next, for each scene, you can configure to use CPU or GPU rendering in the Render properties.

Note: