Get an object when it is not sure if there is for example '.001' behind its name.

Hi,
A quick question:
I know I can get an object by doing this:

scene = logic.getCurrentScene()
cube = scene.objects['cube']

But how to get the cube if it is not sure if its name is ‘cube’, ‘cube.001’, ‘cube.002’ or ‘cube.003’ etcetera?
And to prevent issues with the fact there may be more than one object with cube in its name, I have only 1 object with cube in its name.

I’m asking this because my game contains more scenes and the character is called ‘archer’ but in another level it is called ‘archer.001’ because it is duplicated.

I know I’m not an expert in explaining things but I hope you understand my question.
I hope you can help me.
Thanks

who needs to target him and when?

you can use a ray and get the ray.hitObject

you can have a empty spawn the archer at runtime, and then set the
archers game object as a property, or add a property to a list?

be more specific and I will write you a snipet.

Well for example I have a empty that has properties like the health of the archer.
When I want the archer to walk, a script (activated by a keyboard sensor of the archer) will first check if the health is greater than 0 before it actually starts to walk.
For that, the script needs to acces the empty its property ‘health’.
But the empty its name can be empty.001 , empty.002 etcetera…
Yes yes… I know this can be done very easily with logic bricks but this is just a simple example. I want this also in more complex things that are not easy to do with logic bricks.

if you don’t keep your object names tidy don’t expect to have great results by name searching.

Also names are not great way of referencing objects anyway.
I suggest keeping a dictionary of python references to the objects.
You can even store health and other things there.

Also why has a empty the properties of a separate object?
Why can’t the archer himself have them?

ok, you mean you want the player to control the archer,