As a Maya artist leaning Blender....

Hello people.

I’m a new Blender user. I am a student which has been learning Computer Graphics for almost 4 years now.

I have been using Autodesk Maya for 3 years (learnt it at school) and I still have 2 years of university works and assignments to strengthen my Maya knowledge. Learned a bit of XSI too but that’s another story.

You can check out my student short here, nothing fancy, even though I won a prize for it:

And here’s rigging reel which features squash stretch, ik-fk switch,etc.

I’ve posted these so you evaluate my level of knowledge.

In the CG industry, I wanna work primarily as an Animator and maybe have that little Riggin and python knowledge as an extra.

A few months ago, I thought that it was time for me to learn a new software, one not just be dependent on that ONE master software. Since I wanted to move away from Autodesk, I looked up for Houdini and MODO. They are both great software however neither of them offers a free student educational license like Maya and Max

Then I took the initiative to look back for Blender which I hadn’t considered since like I was high school so I didnt know anything about 2.5 and up.

I was thrilled to discover everything had changed, from the UI, the logic and the possibilities.
I quickly donwload it and started playing around and lerning it from April.

At the start, I played around the Sculpt tools, which in my opinion are alot better than what Maya AND Mudbox had to offer solely due to the Dynotopo feature (awesome add really).:slight_smile:

Quickly, the test grew to be out a whole character which I am going to animate (If i manage to get there) in a few weeks.

The modeling is not that great, but since I focus more and animation, my big work will start when I’ll start animating.

I think that for someone who’ been learning the software for one month, that’s a nice progress:

What do you think?