2015 best renderer for an animation shorts and freelancing??

Hi Blenderheads,
after a long time, I decide to come back to blender and finish my short film, and setup a machine for freelancing, doing 3d or CG animation commercials, (I have a few projects already waiting for me) :eyebrowlift2: I am a graphic designer, so my next step is freelancing with 3d, product visualizations and character animation, what I love!

My only little problem is the animation renderer, cycles? luxrender? Thea? Vray?

which one to choose for the task? is 2015 already so i hope to have very “mature” and “ready to fire” renderers

I will buy in the next 2 month a NVIDIA TITAN 12GB, so I can use the GPU for rendering (or maybe a better option) so I will
render all the character animations “in house”

I was reading about luxrender 1.4 “openCL” and the new path tracing, looks promising, cycles is getting better, Thea have “presto cuda hybrid”

I need your help to choose, the one that can be better for character animation jobs and rock solid render time/quality

Somebody that have experience in real freelancing\deadline renders, which one you suggest to get?

for now I just have a quad core Xeon machine, ATI FIREGL 2gbs, 12gb DRR3 ram. thanks

My personal rating for today:

1. Armold. It’s a simply the best. But it is VERY expensive and it is not for Blender.
  2. Furryball. Great for animation. Fast. GPU. Biased AND unbiased. And yes, expensive and it is not for Blender.
  3. Corona Render. Very cool for interior/exterior/product showcase. And… Not for Blender, again.
  4. Cycles. :slight_smile:
  5. Appleseed. It’s my current choice for animation.

I’ve been testing renderers for very similar reasons and have narrowed it down to…

1. Cycles -
    Pros: Keeps getting faster with each iteration and you can always use Render.st (make sure to bill the rendering into your freelance charges)

Cons: It’s still slow and has noise

1. V-Ray