Blender newbie

Hello Blender community! My name is Isaiah Colon, and this is my first post on the Blender and CG Discussions Forum, and I am a complete beginner to Blender. I downloaded Blender on my Windows 7 Laptop because I was looking for a free, widely-used and decent animation program for 2D videos, and I found Blender :). I have began to watch tutorials and have learned some of the controls, but I have many questions :slight_smile: so I was hoping that a forum for Blender would help out. Ok, so first off, the animations I plan to make I want to convert into video files that I will upload to my Youtube channel. My planned method of animation is drawing every single frame in the program Paint and saving them as jpg. files and then putting those into Blender. Would that work? If so, how would I do it? Again, I am a complete newbie to Blender so I am not familiar with much of the programs mechanics, although I have learned simple mechanics like rotating the screen animation view, deleting objects and moving the camera. I also have a question about the point of view cursor (the circle that moves when you left-click just in case that is not it’s name). How do you lock it in a position on a laptop? I know the control is Shift-X to pull up it’s menu, but it is not working on my laptop so I am assuming it is the laptop’s keys. How would I lock it to the center of the point of view plane?

So here are my main questions for now:
- My planned method of animation is drawing every single frame in the program Paint and saving them as jpg. files and then putting those into Blender. Would that work? If so, how would I do it?

• How do you lock the point-of-view cursor into a position on a laptop? I know the control is Shift-X to pull up it’s menu, but it is not working on my laptop so I am assuming it is the laptop’s keys. How would I lock it to the center of the point of view plane?