First attempt - Spaceship

Hi all. I’m a complete Blender noob. Been doing a spaceship model, since having a specific project seems to be the best way to learn to use software. Anyway, here’s my ship. I’m not sure about the skin-- I was originally thinking a white ceramic look.

I’ll gladly take any suggestions, but my main question is what can I do to make it look less like a model and more like a real object?

For a first attempt it’s a really good start! As for crossing that gap between the digital and photo-realistic world, well, it’s not easy, and it’s a combination of a hundred different factors all working together that will sell the reality of your object.

I’ll just list of some general things to consider when trying to make something look real, but the ultimate principle is thinking about how the real world would constrain or effect an object like this.

• Switch to using the Cycles engine, instead of Blender Internal Renderer. It’s easier to switch over early in a project, and only an engine with physically accurate lighting will produce realistic results.

-Think about how the object would have to be built in real life. Imperfections, as they say, are digital perfection. The front of your spaceship, for example, is one large unbroken block. How is it made? Is it multiple pieces or panels welded together? If so, what about rivets or weld lines? You can use this both to create visually interesting detail AND for visual storytelling- how big your panels are, how they attach to each other, what shape they are, can all convey information about your spaceship (how old it is, how advanced, what it does etc.)

-The materials will probably be the most important component. That’s kind of it’s own huge separate field but most of what I said above still applies. Where will dirt or damage collect on the object? What it it made of? Making sure your metal and plastic look distinct and identifiable will go a long way to creating physicality in your object.