Help. Idiot Newb drowning under weight of his own ineptitude.

Hi,

I have designed a bird and for the last 3 weeks have tried to just create an animation of it flapping its wings in a relatively realistic motion (not just up and down but deforming correctly). I am losing my mind with this relatively simple task. I would really appreciate any help anyone can give as I am a total novice at this.

Ok.

What am I doing wrong?

First of all I tried creating groups of vertices of different areas of the wing (a group for the whole of the wing, a group for the tip of the wing etc etc) then used these vertex groups to deform the mesh to create a flapping motion and inserting keyframes along the way. Problem is that when I try animating like this by installing a keyframe nothing happens. The keyframe registers on the timeline (a little yellow line appears) but the mesh doesn’t deform. This seems like the most basic and intuitive way of animating so am hoping it is me that is missing something out rather than Blender being unable to work like this…

Because I couldn’t do the above I tried to animate using shape keys. Shape keys seem useless as for this however as each shape key is affected by the shape key ahead of it and also must be moulded fresh from the ‘basis’ shape’ rather than just being able to deform the mesh of the key ahead of it. If that description is confusing you trust me it isn’t a patch on how I feel.