Little World - low poly

Wassup people!

Here some thing Im up to.

If anyone could help me to make the colors form the contintents better, Im glad. I tryed diferent setups in nodes using color ramp, mapping and geometry (im not a pro with cycles, nodes, texture… just an apprentice):

My references is from Timothy J. Reynolds. Id like to reach some Ambient Occlusion like that and the faces to display diferents colors also as the example.

Thanks in advance!!!
Peaceout! :ba:

Your planet already looks pretty nice. Are you going for more realistic colors or toonsih colours? I haven’t really looked into doing direction based colours but you could probably cheat to get that effect somewhat.

Great job! I really like it. :slight_smile:

Nice squirrelbot! Thanks! Its not a realistic looking Im for. Its sort of the reference image I’ve posted. Id like the ambient occlusion of my continents get the appereance of the refenrence image. I mean the shadows where the polygons fit together. Ive made a cut what part Im saying about:

Thanks again for the reply!

Nice, man! Thanks a lot! :smiley:

I am pretty bad with cycles materials as well. I used the following material settings to quickly try and obtain the ambient occlusion effect your looking for. My guess is using the AC node is a good place to start. You could probably tweak it with geometry or something.

Sorry I didn’t have much time to try and figure it out. Still I think it’s a starting point.

Here is the result I got just using a mix shader. (my scene may also be a bit bright haha)

And here is the material panel

Also. Sorry for such slow replies. My posts still have to be moderated :smiley:

Nice, suirrelbot! Thats a real good start point. Thanks again! Gonna try something with this and post it here. C ya peace!

Glad if I could be of some help. Let me know what you figure out. I might investigate it some more myself.