New external game engine to work alongside Blender. Possibly C++?

Hey guys,

I was having a little look around as I was curious about the future of the BGE. After a short look, it looks like the future is a bit bleak. It would be a shame if the BGE dies. Its great having the combination of asset creation and game engine together. I also read that the code is quite a mess.

Is it an option, to write a bran new game engine from scratch, in something like C++, that can work alongside Blender, or inside Blender, so that we can still have the same work flow, but on a brand new engine?

An all new, shiny C++/OpenGL game engine for Blender :slight_smile:

and go…

So in my head, blender itself becomes more of an asset creator only. And then you have your game logic editor inside of Blender with your assets linked. But your game code is always a separate entity instead of being part of Blenders main program. So I imagine it will always launch in standalone.

I’m a C++ programmer with a little bit of OpenGL/Direct X experience, so I will get my thiking cap on how to implement this :slight_smile:

No problem. Blender and the BGE are open source. Just go on :wink:

Btw. the BGE code is already separate from Blender. You can even skip it when running a build.

Could you make it so that it has logic bricks with great framerate for openworlds?As of now the blender game engine lags with dynamically loaded terrains.I would like to have procedural generation acessible through logic bricks.The new unreal game engine has that.

Hey,

Yeah I think the logic bricks would have to come to, as this is a big factor in why a lot of people start using the BGE I’m sure, but…

I would like it so people that have programming experience to directly access the games code.

Maybe have it so when you start a new game, you start a new ‘project’ and you start off with a bare bones program with direct access to the code of the game itself without disturbing Blender.