My first animation

Hello, after all I bit the bullet and decided to try animation. It took me 3 weeks, I am hoping that someone can give me some critique, I had a lot of problems with the dogs walk cycles. I tried to use Freestyle but I am not happy at all with the results. Used toon shader and it looks so so, however I think its all due to my lack of skill. Nevertheless I now understand why freestyle is not that popular for this kind of animation. I was trying to mimic traditional 2d animation.
I already corrected a problem with the noise seed, I put #Frame in the sampling seed. I used cycles and as already mentioned freestlye.

Thanks a lot for you input!

[video]https://youtu.be/Bvhm9-1jtB0[/video]

Hello. I’m new to animation myself, so I don’t know how well my critique will be. But one thing I noticed is that your dogs don’t seem to have a lot of weight. They seem to be just floating as they walk, especially the blue dog. But other than that I liked what I see. Good job.

Good start, eliutb. All this in 3 weeks is pretty commendable. Congrats on finishing a film. Regarding the film and animation, i would work on the compositions and think about how it can enhance the point of the one shot that you are doing and how that effects the story overall. For instance, the top angle shot would have been justified had the animation told us more about the character of the dog. Currently, it only tells us about character going from one location to another. So, that’s the first area i would recommend to think about in the future films you make.
Regarding quadruped animation, i see you are using a walk cycle for all the shots, in the last few shots when the dogs take a step and come to a stop it would have been easier to animate a few steps and coming to a stop. You wouldn’t have gotten the sliding of the paws either.