Godzilla Walk Cycle

Hello all,

I’m new to both this forum and to Blender. I started learning Blender a few months ago and have been following many awesome tutorials on YouTube. I really love Blender, I’ve been wanting to learn 3d animation for a very long time and Blender and the Blender community is making that possible! :slight_smile:

So here is my first model and animation with Blender. I am a big Godzilla fan, so I wanted my first model to be of the king of the monsters. My version of Godzilla goes back to the classic Godzilla design, adding my own cartoonish style to it. Later as my skills progress, I will be animating him breathing fire and destroying buildings lol!

welcome to the forums :slight_smile:
I love the style you got goin here for the King of Monsters. The walk cycle looks like it’s coming along nicely. Oh and extra points for creating Godzilla and not zilla lol.

Good stuff, nice mean look to this one, can’t wait to see him do some crushing! I just did my own Godzilla test for my homepage, use Firefox or Chrome if you check it out, no audio in IE, WASD and arrow control. http://www.trepaning.com/

Haha fun… It doesnt look bad either if you play it at 2x speed on youtube.

this is great, my favourite monster. i love how you managed that he looks very heavy, the way he walks. great animation.

Hello all,

Thank you very much for your comments. It was a lot of fun working on the animation. Here is an update, I added a peaceful moment for Godzilla just before he took his afternoon walk lol. And I also added some sounds to make it a little more alive. I was easily able to find Godzilla’s roars online, but I needed a sound effect of Godzilla scratching. So my wife had this great idea of recording her scratching our sofa pillow and it turned on perfectly! Check out the animation below :slight_smile:

@artorious: Yes, I will never do modeling or animations of Zilla. There is only one GODzilla! LOL :slight_smile: