Exporting to .fbx not displaying as suspected

Hi guys,

I’m a programmer that recently started learning blender (for use with Unity) so may have been doing something very wrong from the start BUT… I got to the stage where I wanted to try importing my model and have so far tried a few things.

Initially I exported as .fbx but found this didn’t pass the textures over. Then I tried loading the .fbx file exported into the Autodesk .fbx converter and the subsequent fbx let me view the model and see the textures, but the actual model was not incorrect.

Then I finally read that unity can now directly read .blend files and convert them under the hood if the file is in the assets folder, but again it didn’t look the same. I feel like I’m probably missing something fairly straight forward.

I’ve attached the .blend file and tried attaching the .fbx generated by the converter but it wouldn’t let me.

Any help is much appreciated! and thank you all for supporting such a powerful piece of free software :slight_smile:

Attachments

WallPiece.blend (453 KB)

I might be misunderstanding your problem, but here’s an overview of getting stuff from Blender to Unity.

Essentially, textures should not be part of the .fbx at all.

In Blender you create geometry with UV maps, and the texture image is a separate file. Once in Unity, you import the geometry from .fbx or .blend and it will show up as a blank model, and import the image file separately. To use them together, create a material inside Unity with the texture, and place the material on the MeshRenderer of whatever object uses your geometry.

Unity can automatically generate materials with the textures attached, and there are settings for this in the model import tab, but I generally turn that off because it clutters my asset organization.

Does this help?