Can I export vertex coordinates, normals and UV mapping to a specific format?

A warning to start with: I do not know any Python at all. I’m sure I can learn some, but I’m starting from scratch with this language. I think that what I want to do is easy enough, but I’d greatly appreciate some pointers regarding the process.

What I am hoping to do is use Blender to model game assets for an old game some diehards are still addicted to. I’m new to Blender but after reading the Noob to Pro tuts, searching this forum, and playing around a bit I’m finding it easy to use and very effective.

The catch is that this old game (Railroad Tycoon 3, if anyone cares) uses a custom file format. It’s called .3dp but is not related to the common 3DProfessional format. It was based on the output of the old Autodesk .3ds format, but rewritten to overcome some of the well-known limitations of .3ds.

I completely understand the RT3 .3dp file format. Everything in it is a known quantity. I know what every byte does. Apart from some trivial headers, all it contains is a list of all vertex coordinates and normals, and numbering for the vertices, along with the relevant UV mapping. The entire file is in Little Endian hex, with the vertex numbering being done as integers and the rest of the data being done as single precision floating. Anyone who has seen a .3ds file in a hex editor will recognise the similarities.

Having read the Noob to Pro tutorials I realise it is simple to write a basic script to export all vertex coordinates. I assume it is equally easy to export vertex normals, vertex numbering, and coordinates for UV mapping. What I would like to know is how to export this data in the particular order required by this file format, and how to get the export into Little Endian hex with floats or integers to suit.