Need help with render settings! 10+ hours on GTX 980 (Cycles)

Hi,
I’m kind of new to Blender, even though I have been using it on and off for 6 months now.

I am feeling more and more confident in my modelling-skills, but my render-“skills” are awful…

The scene took me over… I think it was 12 hours to render on a MSI GeForce GTX 980 GAMING 4G.

For this scene I used cycles with a resolution of 1920x1200, plus these settings:

Scene:

I would appreciate all feedback on how I could make this process more efficient!
Hopefully upping the resulting quality of the image :slight_smile:

Check that Squared Samples checkbox, and knock the render samples down to about 5 at first and work your way up. 1000 is way to high…
Your effectively rendering at 4000 samples right now.
Your samples for each individual sample is too high also for such a simple scene.
I would suggest watching this video if you are going to use branched path tracing…

Thanks for the tips!
I will tweak them when I get off work, but about how long would a simple scene like this normally take to render in cycles? (with the correct settings)

A scene like that should easily render in under 2 minutes with a decent GPU or even CPU.

edit: my suggestions to get a faster render.

1. change branched path back to path tracing
  2. set your render samples to 200, (you may be able to get by with as few as 100 samples)
  • note these samples are different than the ones under branched tracing.
  1. set clamp indirect to 1.0 (leave clamp direct at 0.0)
  2. under light paths, set your integrator presets to limited Global Illumination

That should give you a nice quick render if nothing else has been changed from the defaults. Since you don’t have anything glossy in your scene, it should clean up very quickly and not need many samples.

Setting the clamp indirect will help clean up any remaining noise, and the limited GI option removes caustics calculations, further clearing up potential noise.

@rcpongo