Mesh flips when moving IK bone with segments upwards

Hi, so I have been rigging a dragon but something weird is happening on one of the wings, it’s one bone with an IK that has a Chain Lenght of 1 and it works alright when the bone has only 1 segment, but I need to work with 3, that’s the reason of the IK. On the pictures you can see how the wing is behaving normally before reaching certain point and in the second is how it looks like after the flipping, it’a a 180 degree flip and only on the outer segment.

I recently saw the light of the beauty of Blender coming from the dark world of Maya, so I’m still learning the ways of rigging here.

Any suggestions are appreciated

Attachments

Ok, this happened on the stomach too, please, someone???
The constrain the root bone has is 50% of position from the left bone and the other 50% from the right bone… But I’m 100% sure that’s not what it’s causing it because it’s the same thing happening on the wing and there were no constraints.

Please! I made the wings FK so the wing isn’t a problem anymore, but there’s no way I can have the rig without root bone or stomach bone. ;-;

Attachments

bump :spin:

I’m sorry, I really can’t tell what’s going on from the images you’ve posted. So many things might be off… It might be a good idea to post the blend file for someone to take a look.

Oh, sorry, here it is. If you pull down the root bone it will flip.

I deleted some parts (not needed to see what’s happening) of the mesh because I need to protect the file and who knows who might take it for other purposes.

[ATTACH]364897[/ATTACH]

Attachments

Dragon_.blend (705 KB)

I cannot find the root bone, and I think that is the problem. You have a “root” vertex group, which is assigned to the problem part of the mesh, but the bone “Bone” seems to be in charge. “Bone” also has a vertex group.