Complete Newb

Hi all

New to Blender so please don’t shout too much. I have done a basic tutorial on Youtube and it seemed to go ok and I like what Blender can do. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UzMEltQGhfk

Just a couple of questions:

1. How artistic do I have to be?
  2. Not knowing much about blender yet, but is it possible to download a robot from Blend Swap and create a stop go animation?

I would eventually like to do something like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tLyhbqBJB_o

Thanks for any help.

1. That is depending on what you do. You should have good ideas (what you actually have) and some artistic skills like to know where the eyes are positioned in the face are useful, but if you don’t want to sculpt a face you don’t need that knowledge it.

Almost everything made with blender is art. Not in sense of a painting but more like a movie or maybe photos (which is art in my opinion). You should know some art-rules (e.g. 3-Point-Lightning, 180°-rule for animations, golden ratio) but they are explained in the most blender tutorials (Very useful for 3D-Renders at all: http://www.blenderguru.com/tutorials/understanding-composition/

1. Yes it is possible, but I wouldn’t recommend to do that as your second work with blender (if you have no experience with other 3D software). Look for tutorials about advanced modeling, because you will always need modeling; the same with materials. In the next step you should try camera tracking and animating. If you spend a few minutes on blender every day, I’m sure you will be able to do something like this soon!

Thanks for the reply.

I have been looking at camera tracking on blenderguru with this excercise, but I have yet to get past the tracking markers as when it tracks, it cant find the marker.

I will get there eventually. I think I am more of a special effects fan, so the tracking excercise suits me. Perhaps I am being a bit keen with the transformer!!

Thanks for the reply.