Backlight effect using Cycles ?

Hello All,

I would like to learn how to make a Backlight effect, when the light on the back covers some of the objects in front.

I’ve set a simple scene in order to experiment and learn it thanks to your help.
I put the sphere (light source) on the back, put it on it’s own layer.
The rest of the objects (floor and 3 cubes) on other layers.

Now… what to do in the note editor in order to make it work?
I’m still a noob, but if it’s not too complicated I’ll be happy to understand how to make it work please.

Sorry about my bad English,
Thanks ahead!

A flare effect can be achieved with the glare node applied to a mixed version of your two shots with a high threshold to only add glare of white light. Then use add node to apply it on top of the original.

Thanks for the reply 3pointEdit!

I’ve tried many things… node editor is the most scary thing right now for me, and the more I play with it the scarier it gets…
I know it supposed to get logical (from right to left) and stuff like that but for some reason I get lost in it real quick.

When it comes to After Effects or Photoshop I do this layers / comp logic so fast… but when I try to understand how it works in Blender I’m totally lost… I know it should be very simple so I wanted to learn it by myself but now I’m even more confused.

This is what I did, after changing the order of the links between the 2 layers (up and down on the mix node) still not working, the light is still in font.

You need to add the glare after mixing the light and foreground together.

Sorry for being annoying with this…
I don’t get the node editor yet, it doesn’t make any logical sense to me yet even when I think it is…

Am I getting closer to the solution… ?

Why are you rendering separate layers?

Basically because I want to have more control on the effect using flare, blur or other effects without affecting the main scene. :slight_smile: