Objects visible through other Objects!?!

Hey I am new to the compostior and I layered all my lights such as the scene object, then the side lights on the ship, and then the back thrusters. As You can see below the back thruster cone I used to generate the glow and light is still visible through the ship how can I keep the Glow and Light but remove the cone fully? Any help if apreciated!!

Hey!

Can you post your node setup or blend file. Thanks.

Select the layer that has your light object, Check"All Z":

Generally speaking, you need to remember (first and foremost …) that “the point-of-view of the compositor” is strictly two-dimensional (except to the very-limited extent that it can avail itself of “Z-depth” information). At the compositing stage, there is no remaining notion of “three-dimensional objects in three-dee space.” All that the compositor has to work with, are various two-dimensional “arrays of various numbers.”

Therefore, from the compositor’s point of view, here there are “two, two-dimensional” channels of information: one for the ship, and the other for the glow.

“Okay … how might you have solved this problem … if you were Walt Disney, in the 1930’s, working with (literally) pieces of celluloid plastic?” (Or, maybe, the folks at ILM, putting together the first Star Wars movie without digital-anything??)

Well, you’d probably decompose the problem into … well … the three things that you’d contrive to ultimately place upon three different layers of plastic (film), which you’d [somehow] sandwich in front of a camera to produce the final shot. (My point is, you’d be thinking two-dimensionally at this point.)

(1) Starting with the glow-effect, you’d “Alpha-mask” this against the shape of the spaceship, so that the glow appeared only where the spaceship was not.

(2) Upon this, you’d superimpose the spaceship. (So far, so good, except that there’s no glow in front of the ship.)