Settled for the Night

Starting off this project with some concept art I drew. I’m excited because this is my first project where I have proper concept art to begin with, so it should be much easier to get to the final image because I know what I want to make.

What do you think of it so far?
Keep in mind this is a sketch so not a lot of work went into the details, epecially the man, he was just trown on in about 2 minutes! :stuck_out_tongue:

Newest image:

Your sketching abilities are really pleasant.
It’s a good composition with a lot of challenge.

I think this could be an awesome 3D scene. Looking forward to it.

Thank you :slight_smile:

Is the spider suppose to be like aragog from Harry potter?

It was inspired by the charming old Shelob from Lord of The Rings / Tolkien books but I guess it’s along those same lines :slight_smile:
But after all it’s just a big ass spider. When I model the spider my main reference will be the Australian funnel-web spider.

I like the concept.
This could make for a really good scene.
I’d hate to have to model the spider, though. Shudders

Haha! Good thing I’m completely fine with spiders. Funny story, I used to lob spiders I found, at my older brother. He would scream like a little girl! :smiley:

That’s a nice sketch. The mood is definitely well established. I can’t wait to see more as this progresses.

Your concept art of a man trying to survive with the darkness and a big spider around him, makes me think of the game “Don’t Starve” :slight_smile: Great artwork by the way, I’d like to see the progress.

You concept art of a man trying to survive with the darkness and big spider aound hip, makes me think of the game “Don’t Starve” :slight_smile:

Made some placeholders just to get the camera angle and focal length down. Also so I can model the spider without having to worry about posing it later. For now the spider is just Suzanne. I can’t decide if I should start by sculpting the rock or the spider.