Stop keyframes from tweening?

Hi, I’m very new to blender and this is my first attempt at animating.
How can I stop two keyframes from tweening together?
For example, I’m animating an egg wriggling from side to side. There is then a short pause before it begins wriggling again. I need there to be a pause with no motion, but the last keyframe from the first wiggle is tweening into the first keyframe of the second wiggle.

I know it’s probably really obvious, sorry lol

You can set various interpolation modes for added keyframes. The default is bezier, this you can change in the user preferences.
You can see the f-curves in a graph editor window

See http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Doc:2.6/Manual/Animation/Editors/Graph/FCurves

I agree Richard, but won’t changing the interpolation method will affect the rest of the animation? By changing to linear mode won’t the rest of the animation be jerky? Bezier curve placement points also have associated control points, called “handles” in the Graph Editor, and these can be manipulated. These handles dictate the portion of the curve over which the placement point has an effect. Look at the picture below:

I have selected the placement point plus its control. If you change the left handle type to “Free” rather than “Aligned”, or “Auto Clamped”, you can then move it to be coincident with the placement point (select it then key G X > drag it), thus making sure that the placement point does not affect the curve to the left of itself, as in the picture below:

This portion of the curve is now straight as it approaches the placement point, we have introduced a “discontinuity” to the curve making it almost NURB in form. If you repeat this both ends of your “Still” phase in your animation, the object will remain in a state of rest here and will still move smoothly for the rest of its animation.