GTX 970 Memory Issue Affecting Blender?

Since I have only used Blender with a 970, I have no experience with other GPU’s.

In case you haven’t heard, apparently the 970 has a memory bug that the card will drastically slow down (or something) when accessing the last 0.5Gb of the 4Gb. This means that when using more than 3.5Gb, the card will take a performance hit.

Does anyone here using the 970 actually notice the decrease in performance? Does rendering a very simple model take up 4Gb, or at least more than 3.5Gb?

This is a very good question. I hope someone will give us an answer!

Marco

This is a great question. I hope someone will give us an answer.

Marco

Hi Marco and Jerry, it’s a very real problem if you start working on complex scenes where you are using a lot of 4k textures particularly. On lighter scenes or scenes where you have just a few models where the scene is under 3.5gb of video memory consumption then the 4gb GTX 970 will render much faster than say a 4gb GTX 760. However as soon as you build a detailed character, rig it, place it in an environment of any detail etc. it’s quite likely you’ll exceed 3.5 gb memory usage and then the card will run slower than the 4gb 760. I recently purchased both for some rendering boxes we set up for a project with characters and space scenes and nearly all our scenes just tip over the 3.5 gb memory usage and we’ve found that the GTX 760 will render a frame in 3.5 minutes on these complex scenes because it has a true 4gb limit so the card performance doesn’t clip, and the GTX 970 will dramatically reduce in performance on exactly the same file and will render the same frame at over eight minutes.

So our experience of this is that the more expensive card with more CUDA cores the (4gb GTX 970) takes more than two and half times longer to render the same frame as the 4GB GTX 760.