Cartoon eyelids solution (sweep control like in Maya possible?)

Hello All!

I must mention that I’m very new to Blender, I’m still learning it while trying to create and following tutorials.

Description:
What I’m trying to create supposed to work great (only in my mind…) using shape keys but it didn’t work well as I thought so I need to find another way and hopefully it won’t be complicated to do consider I’m a noob.

Cartoon Eyelids:
I’ve created the eyelids already on a neutral position, I used the solidify modifier to get some thickness.
So far everything looks great, the eyelids are sitting over the eyeball, I’ve made the first shape key which are close, it looks great.

The problem:
When I’ve manipulated manually again the edge loops of the eyelids in order to create a WIDE OPEN eyelids shapekey it looks really good until I tested it with the 0-1 shape key value.
when it’s on 0 it’s great, when it’s on 1 it’s great. but while the values are inbetween movement (in order to animate it in the future) the eyelids are get INSIDE the eyeball a bit, and not wrapping the eyeball perfectly.

So I was wondering, is there a sweep control on a sphere that I can animate?
I even found a good example used in Maya because it is perfectly close and open dynamically in a perfect sphere.

Can somebody show me a video-tutorial that does the same principle but in Blender please?
it will be very helpful because I will be able to watch and follow step-by-step.

Maya example for cartoon eyelids:
Please watch the part starting on 3:17s just CLICK HERE TO WATCH

Thanks ahead! :wink:

• Sorry about my bad English

For that motion you can animate the screw modifier
You could also just use bones to animate the rotation of vertices

Attachments

screw.blend (89.4 KB)

Thank you for the fast reply! :slight_smile:
it seems like the tool I’m looking for but when I play scroll the Angle it only tweek the upper part.

Is there a way to control also the down part to rotate up?