Permanently change Class variables with keyPress

Hello all! This might be better suited in the beginners coding support because I feel like complete noob for not figuring this out :stuck_out_tongue:

I want my character in the game to spawn an object when I press “e”, but only one!
I first just tried to instantiate self.equipped = None, then set it to 1 when I press “e”. Ofc the problem is that the variable changes back to None when i release the button.
So I realized I need an if statement that will always be true to keep self.equipped at 1.

Something like:

If e and not self.equipped:
addObj(“thing”, self)
If “thing” in self.children:
self.equipped = 1

Now equipped always stays at 1 after I’ve pressed the hotkey, but it still adds objects!
I wrote print(scene.objects) at the end and even though equipped stays at 1 it just keeps adding 10 obj/second…
I might just still be really confused with classes and their proper structure and execution. But how would you solve this?
Feels like there should be a way to tell my code to keep self.equipped at 1 until I tell it to change…

If you don’t understand my problem then I can send a blend later. :stuck_out_tongue:
Thanks in advance

Hi Emilime,

If you have an if statement that is always true you don’t need it, so you can remove it. You’re problem is that self.equipped is some where set to None, each time. Where in you’re class do you instantiate self.equipped to None?
You must do this in the constructor of the class in the init function.

Hey Petege, thanks for answering!

Unfortunately I can’t provide a blend atm, but either way it’s a big incohesive mess…
I do set self.equipped to None in the init function! Because the player starts of unequipped. Basically my code looks like this(in pseudo):

Class PlayerClass:

Def init:
<Bunch of variables like move speed etc>
self.equipped = 0

Def movement:
<Here I handle movement and physics>

Def main:
Self.movement() #call this function

In here is where I experiment:

If e: