Maschinengewehr 42(finished!)

Hi, I’m currently working on a German Maschinengewehr 42(MG 42) and I decided to post some WIP images to stop me from procrastinating. I’m working on this project in my spare time so I wont be able to work on it every day, but I’ll try to keep a steady income of updates^^

The machine gun was designed in Nazi Germany and was used by the Wermacht during WW2. The MG 42 had one of the highest rate of fire of any singe-barreled man portable machine gun, it could fire between 1200 and 1500 rounds per minute(twice the rate of the Vickers and Browning machine guns).

Here are a few WIP images, tell me if you want me to post images showing close ups of the topology etc. Comments and criticism is appreciated:)

Attachments

I’m no weapon expert, but I do recognize a MG 42 when I see one. Looks like it’s shaping up very nicely, I suppose you are going to texture this too? Also, out of curiosity, what’s the polycount so far? It looks pretty detailed :slight_smile:

Thanks^^
Polycount so far is about 380k verts. I’m going to add textures when the modelling is done^^

wow. good modeling!
when its textured it is gonna be pretty real looking :slight_smile:

tiny modeling details that may or may not be important:

your model is really detailed already though :slight_smile:

It’s still a WIP, lots of details missing, but thanks for reminding me of the missing bits^^ There is also many different versions of the parts, even tho they are on the same model, for example the muzzle part:

The ammunition belt is done:)

wow. such detail!
:smiley:

Wow, very impressive! Great job. :slight_smile:

You might want to consider dupliverts for the ammunition belt. I expect it will greatly reduce the render time.

Thanks for the comments:)
macktruck6666: Thanks for the duplivert suggestion, it will definitely come in handy when I’m going to render the ammo chain^^

Added the bolt handle today^^