Relative import when running blender from command line

Hello, I’m trying to create a batch file that will run an export script of mine when Blender launches.

The .bat itself seems to run correctly, and what I’ve done is have it launch blender with a .blend file selected, and a python script. Unfortunately, it doesn’t like when I say “from . import ExportModel”. It seems that it doesn’t know where “.” points to. The error I get is:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<string>", line 1, in <module>
  File "<string>", line 2, in <module>
SystemError: Parent module '' not loaded, cannot perform relative import

My question is: how can I rephrase the “from . import x” statement to import an addon in the blender scripts directory?

Sorry, a bit of a python noob here.

Did you check this?

Thanks! I get a different error now, though.

I necro’d this guy’s thread because it’s the same error. http://www.blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?334117-AttributeError-_RestrictData-object-has-no-attribute-filepath

However I’m not able to fix it the same way he did.

See here:

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Extensions:2.6/Py/API_Changes#Restricted_Context

That is the proper way to go about it.

A hacky way is to register a one-shot app handler callback for scene updates to defer the execution, but it’s really a hack.

I’m sorry, I don’t understand. What I’m trying to do is run Blender from command line with some parameters so it opens a .blend file, runs an exporter add-on I’ve written, then closes. I guess I’m just wondering how to make use of the -P argument without running into this restricted access error.

So you basically want to load a .blend in background mode, ensure your exporter addon is activated, then execute a python script that calls an operator of your addon?