Freestyle broken line question and screen updates???

I have several questions about Freestyle. This is an example of a discontinuous line on the outline of a figure. I am tired of tweaking parameters without seeing live screen updates (planned implementation??) but suspect someone here can figure out the problem. As I move through the frames, the position of the break changes as do the number of breaks?? Any ideas, please… Thank you.

Second question: I understand the latest RC version (which I am using) includes the option to Cache the View Map. I have this checked, but don’t have a clue how this is supposed to help. Without a Preview Viewport and live updating of style changes, I am not sure what this feature is supposed to do. I get weary of the “code” mode of working and as an artist I am looking forward to any further updates to the Live Viewport Preview, and Tweaking of line styles with more immediate feedback. Other software programs provide this functionality and I am very enthusiastic about this possibility being implemented in Blender. I appreciate all of the hard work and dedication involved in the Freestyle aspect.
I am also looking forward to the BEER development and tie-in to Freestyle or perhaps JOT?? Again, with live screen preview to make it artist friendly, Blender will take off as the tool of choice.

Thank you again for any assistance.

Late addition: I appreciate the new SVG output choice, it works superbly, but did not see an option to tell it where to place the output files, except at the root of the blend file output directory???

i’ve lost touch with a lot of the recent developments related to freestyle. i haven’t tried the viewmap caching or even the svg export, but as for those broken lines, i found that it sometimes helps to disable “chaining” in the line geometry settings.