Rigify: What's with these broken shins and thighs?

I’m currently trying to figure out rigify
I’m not entirely clear on what it is, but the unity community and this one seem to be fond of it, and it comes highly recommended. I have some experience with ordinary armature rigging and animation, but this seems to be something entirely different. The skeleton is full of layers and i can’t figure out what most of them are for

This page is the best documentation i’ve found: http://docs.unity3d.com/Manual/BlenderAndRigify.html

I’m currently at the section Skinning the rig to the model, and i notice this rather odd image:

I’m seeing the same thing within blender. What is going on here? Who has joints in the middle of their femur. and for that matter the shins, forearms, and upperarms? These bones seem nonsensical and it is irritating me.

As can be seen above, unity’s advice is to simply ignore them. That is going to be extremely annoying to work with, i’m not sure i can do that.
Can i just delete those extra bones and move the useful ones into place, or is that likely to break stuff?

However, i’ve found these two layers, within the rig > skeleton > Layers area:

http://puu.sh/dNXYT/53078504cc.png
http://puu.sh/dNY4r/917430bd93.png

They look far more sensibly designed. So why am i being advised to use a different layer? Can i use one of those two instead?

The first of those two, i can’t seem to select or manipulate any of the bones, so i’m not really sure what that layer is.

in short, i’m confused: this can’t be the optimal way to do things. Advise please.

Hi,

they’re probably used for bending the limbs ?

Hadrien

but human bones don’t bend at those places. our limbs are made of two long bones and an endpoint (hand, foot). it’s mostly only our spinal column that bends so much.

This is supposed to be a human rig, isn’t it?