Rigging a mechanical like setup - how...? kind of kinematic one

I don’t know how to rig this setup,
it’s kind of mechnical, I’ll try to explain it:

dl the blendfile https://www.dropbox.com/s/8xtmubzqfm8pry7/mechrig.blend?dl=0

Bone.Main = should be controlling this on, by pulling up and to the side

the Bone.Arm.right and the Bone.Arm.right.stiff should be fixed in angle, just like one glued part

so, what should happen is:
dragging .main up/down: opening and closing the big legs
pulling main to the side: pulling the legs sideways

it’s all based on kinematic, so maybe the ik constraint does this,
but I’ve never used any before …
I tried to but I did not work, it’s kind of too difficult for my knowledge state :spin:
anyone can give me a hint…

I have not got time to look at this just now, but here is something to play with:

digger-armature.blend (1.26 MB)

Just grab the control bone and drag it around.

In Inverse Kinematics, any bone with a IK constraint will have this constraint targeted to the TAIL of the target bone. This often means adding a small extruded bone to the operating bone, so you can IK a bone to it. In order to drag a bone, its tail must be free, i.e. not attached to another bone. One last point - I don’t know if you have used Quaternion or XYZ Euler bones, but you will need to use XYZ Euler for the IK’s on this rig. I’ll look at your blend file later today/tomorrow. In order to have one bone copy the rotation of another - use a Copy Rotation constraint or parent the bones together and check “Inherit Rotation”, if you parent a train of bones with Inherit Rotation, all will inherit the rotation of the first.

Last point - Look at the Bones individual IK stiffness values - these need to be either locked or have some stiffness assigned.