Curious about Blender... is it viable for a production pipeline?

Hey everyone,

I’m curious about Blender.

I currently work as a freelance 3D artist and primarily work in 3ds Max / Zbrush / Photoshop. From what I’ve heard and read Blender is pretty advanced and full featured. I currently pay for max on a sub, but as everyone knows it’s not cheap.

Is Blender viable to fill in for Max for most tasks? I currently use max for hard-surface modeling, modeling stuff to send to zbrush and for rendering out normal/ao maps. I usually have to work with .FBX alot, both importing and exporting files for clients.

How is Blenders modeling toolset in terms of efficiency to use?

Are there any limitations of the program I would run into?

Yes it is. However there are couple of things missing or in development.

3dMax’s “Fix Uvs” mode is not available for vertex or face editing. It is however available for edge sliding (With limitation for UV seams- the sliding edge must not be a UVseam).

One of the most missed features was “Edit Normals” modifier in max. Custom vertex normals are being supported however editing custom vertex normals is being developed currently (Coming soon hopefully).

Even though Blender is similar to max in a “modifier stack” context. Blender doesn’t have some helpful modifiers of max; for example “Edit Poly” so making combinations from multiple edit poly modifiers is not possible.

The Array (modifier) of blender compared to max array tools is a little bit more manual. You can do the same things however blender depends on user input to do some complex arrays. For example max array has rotation values in the tools to quickly create a circular array of objects. In blender this is done by using another objects rotation in blender > you choose a object offset and blender uses its pivot as center for array. So if you create an empty and set a modifier to use object offset of empty, when you rotate the empty you will create a circular array.