Need Help with Landing Gear Rig

I am trying to setup a rig for some landing gear for a Grumman F3F-1 and am having difficulty. I am a noob at rigging. Basically the landing gear need to retract according to the drawing and video (seen this link). I cannot figure out how to get all the parts moving and the gear arm to bend inwards.

Can anyone give me some tips? I am there is a way to do this if I could get the rig, parenting and IK right.

Attachments

Check out Chris Khun’s rigging tuts on CGCookie.com. He has just what you need.

I am not a member there…the first tut was free but Parts 2 & 3 you need to be a member.

Me too - I cannot justify the cost for a mere hobby, Having said that - give me a day to look at this and I will post a mock-up here that you can work on. I am presuming that part no 5 is a compression spring inside a cylinder, if this is not the case, let me know sooner rather than later! It will be a fairly simple IK train, but you have to look at the IK section for the bones themselves to see what movement you are allowing through the IK train. and remember IK means Inverse Kinematics, so you drive the mechanism the opposite way to real life generally. For example you drive hydraulic cylinders by moving the arms rather than in real life you would drive the arm by moving the cylinder.

Here you are:

under-carriage.blend (434 KB)

Rotate bone “strut” to retract the undercarriage.
Scale bone “spring” to operate the spring mechanism.
Rotate bone “wheel” about its Z axis in Local Space to spin the wheel.

Make sure you are in “Individual Origins” mode not “3D Cursor”.